You are here

Nick Paulter

Nick Paulter has been the Group Leader of the Security Technologies Group at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Gaithersburg, MD since 2013.  In that capacity he oversees metrology programs related to high-strength fiber characterization, concealed-weapon detection and imaging, through-wall surveillance, characterization of materials and system used in impact mitigation, traffic control devices, and biometrics for identification.  From 2005 to 2013 Nick was a Program Manager at NIST’s Office of Law Enforcement Standards in which he initiated two NIST programs in submillimeter-wave concealed weapon imaging, facilitated the development of visible-light hyper-spectral image projection, initiated an NIST-centric imaging metrology program for security and emergency applications, started two through-wall surveillance/sensing metrology activities, and started a program for the characterization of the high-voltage output of electroshock weapons. He received an NIST Bronze Medal in 2003 for his work in developing minimum performance requirements for metal detectors.  From 1990 to 2005 Nick was the Leader of NIST’s High-Speed Pulse Metrology Project at NIST-Gaithersburg and NIST-Boulder, during which time he developed several high-speed electrical pulse generation and sampling systems, electrooptic-based measurement systems, and short optical pulse laser systems for use in pulse metrology.  During his tenure as the Project Leader, the metrology services provided by his project became the best in the world.  Nick was with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM, from 1980 to 1989, and was involved in the study of fast electrical and optical phenomena.  He has authored or co-authored over 100 peer-reviewed technical articles and provided numerous presentations at a variety of technical conferences. Nick is a Commerce Science and Technology Fellow and an IEEE Fellow. 
Nick is currently the chair of the IEEE TC-10 Subcommittee on Pulse Techniques (SCOPT), the IEEE TC-10 Subcommittee on Probe Standards (SCOPS), and the ASTM F12.60 Subcommittee on Controlled Access Security, Search, and Screening Equipment; and convener of the IEC TC85 Working Group 22 on the Computation of Waveform Parameter Uncertainties, the IEC TC85 Maintenance Team 18 for the Revision of the IEC 60469 “Transitions, pulses and related waveforms – Terms, definitions and algorithms,” and the Project Team 62792 for development of the IEC 62792:2015 standard  “Measurement method for the output of electroshock weapons.”
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
TC-10 Subcommitee Chair, Pulse Techniques (SCOPT), Probe Standards (SCOPS) Subcommittee Chair; TC-41 Chair