You are here

Ruth A. Dyer

Ruth Dyer earned her doctorate in mechanical engineering from the University of Kentucky, and her bachelor's and master's degrees in biochemistry are from Kansas State University. She joined K-State in 1983 as an assistant professor in the department of electrical and computer engineering and was promoted to full professor in 1997.

Since 1998, Dr. Dyer has served in various administrative roles in the Office of the Provost at Kansas State University.  She currently serves as the senior vice provost for academic affairs. In this role, she coordinates activities and initiatives related to university academic policies and procedures, curriculum and program development, and academic personnel. She also coordinates, with the Kansas Board of Regents, academic initiatives, such as new degree program proposals, collaborative programs with other regents' institutions, transfer and articulation processes, and distance education issues.

As an investigator for university-wide research projects, Dyer has been involved in numerous ongoing grants and proposals, totaling almost $5 million, for engagement and outreach. She also has received numerous department and college awards for her teaching and service.

She has served in a number of leadership roles in the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society (IMS), including Vice President for Membership, Vice President for Publications, Vice President for Finance, and Executive Vice President.  She currently serves as the President of the IMS. She is a Fellow of the IEEE, and in 2011 she received the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society's Distinguished Service Award.  She served as the General Program Co-Chair for the 2010 I2MTC and as the Technical Program Co-Chair for the 2011 I2MTC.  She also served for a number of years as a member of the I2MTC Board of Directors.  She served three four-year terms — 1999-2002, 2003-2006, and 2008-2011— as an elected member of the IMS Administrative Committee.

Dr. Dyer also was one of seven individuals from across the United States to be named a Fellow of the Association of Women in Sciences in 2006. She was an American Council on Education (ACE) Fellow in 2003-2004 and served during that time at Ohio State University.

In 2013, she was selected for induction into the University of Kentucky (UK) College of Engineering Hall of Distinction, and she currently serves on the UK Engineering Dean’s Advisory Council. 

Dyer can be contacted at

Kansas State University
Sr. Past President (2020-2021); Awards Chair (2020-2021)
Jr. Past President (2018-2019); Nominations & Appointments Chair (2018-2019)
President (2016-2017)
Awards/Fellows Committee Chair (2015, 2014, 2013)
Executive VP (2014-2015)
I&M Society AdCom (2008-2011)
VP Finance (2011-2013)
I2MTC 2010 General Chair
VP Publications (2010)
VP Membership (2006-2007)