You are here

Andy Chi Best Paper Award

The prize is a plaque and $1000 for one author, or $2000 shared among multiple authors, divided equally among them. $1,000 granted on a need basis (as determined by the Awards Chair on request of recipient) for travel to the conference. The honorarium and travel expenses are shared pro rata if there are multiple recipients and attendees.
This prize is funded by the I&M Society.
Spring I2MTC Awards Luncheon
An author or authors of a paper published in the I&M Society Transactions in a given calendar year. The award bestowed in a specific year (n) is for a paper published in the previous calendar year (n-1) and will be presented at the I2MTC Awards Luncheon in the following year (n+1). For example, the 2010 award was based on papers published in 2009 and the award will be presented in 2011.
Basis for Judgement: 
The Transactions EIC assembles the selection committee consisting of five current associate editors who will consider the nominations and make a recommendation for the best paper award. Nominated candidates for the award and members of the I&M Society Awards committee are not eligible to serve on the selection committee. The recommended paper information (title, publications date, etc.) and the authors’ names will be submitted to the Society Awards Committee for review prior to the Fall AdCom meeting. The I&M Awards Committee forwards its review to the AdCom for consideration at the Fall meeting. The AdCom votes at the Fall meeting whether to approve the recommendation.

This award is given each year to the author, or authors, of the outstanding paper published in the Transactions of the I&M Society during the previous year. Its purposes are; 1) to emphasize the importance of good authorship and timeliness of subject matter and 2) to stimulate interest in the Transactions.

Nominations are solicited by the Transactions Editor from the Associate and Guest Editors.

Andy Chi Best Paper Award Qualifications

Current Recipient

A spinning current circuit for Hall measurements down to the nanotesla range
Vincent Mosser, Nicolas Matringe, Youcef Haddab

Past Recipients


Object Recognition Using Tactile Measurements: Kernel Sparse Coding Method
Huaping Liu, Di Guo, and Fuchun Sun from Tsinghua University

Ink-Jet Printed Pressure Sensing Platform for Postural Imbalance Monitoring
Silvia Cruz (University of Minho); Daniel Dias (University of Minho); Luis Alexandre Rocha (University of Minho); Julio Viana (University of Minho)


A Magnetostrictive Guided-Wave Nondestructive Testing Method With Multifrequency Excitation Pulse Signal

Enchao Zhang (Harbin Institute of Technology); Donglai Zhang (Harbin Institute of Technology); Zhihui Zhou (Harbin Institute of Technology); Yang Yang (Harbin Institute of Technology); Jinping Sun (Shenzhen Aerospace New Source Technology); Min Zhao (Shenzhen Academy of Aerospace Technology)



Detecting and quantifying the nonlinear and time-variant effects in FRF measurements using periodic excitation
Rik Pintelon (Vrije Universiteit Brussel); Ebrahim Louarroudi (Vrije Universiteit Brussel); John Lataire (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Analyzing the Windkessel model as a potential candidate for correcting oscillometric blood pressure measurements
Kurt Barbé (Vrije Universiteit Brussel); Wendy Van Moer (Vrije Universiteit Brussel); Danny Schoors (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Design of a 12-Bit 2.5 MS/s Integrated Multi-Channel Single-Ramp Analog-to-Digital Converter for Imaging Detector System
Wu Gao (Northwestern Polytechnical University); Deyuan Gao (Northwestern Polytechnical University); Christine Hu-Guo (Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert CURIEN); Yann Hu(Institut Pluridisciplinaire Hubert CURIEN)

Reputation-Enabled Self-Modification for Target Sensing in Wireless Sensor Networks
Xue Wang (Tsinghua University); Liang Ding (Tsinghua University); Daowei Bi (Tsinghua University)

An Adaptive Quality Assessment System – Aspect of Human Factor and Measurement Uncertainty
Jenny Wirandi (Blekinge Institute of Technology); Jiandan Chen (Blekinge Institute of Technology); Wlodek J. Kulesza (Blekinge Institute of Technology)