You are here

Technical Award

$2,000 ($4,000 total for shared awards), Plaque, and travel allowance of up to $1,000 ($2,000 total for shared awards) is granted on a need basis for the recipient(s) to attend the awards ceremony.
Funded by the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society.
Nomination Deadline: 
August 1, 2020
Awarded annually at the discretion of the I&M Society Awards Committee at the following year’s I2MTC awards ceremony.
Open to all, either individuals or groups. Must be a member of IEEE and the Instrumentation and Measurement Society at the time of nomination and presentation. Voting members of the Society Standing Awards Committee are not eligible. Nominees must exhibit actions that reflect positively on and enhance the reputation of the I&M Society. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society/Council governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4. on Awards Limitations ( Previous award winners are not eligible.
Basis for Judgment: 
Recognizes an individual or group of individuals for outstanding contributions or leadership in advancing instrumentation design or measurement technique. The nomination must clearly indicate the achievements that define the excellence of the candidate and must reference/provide relevant documentation that is in/or not in/ the public domain. At least 2, but no more than 4 endorsements must be provided by individuals with close knowledge of a candidate’s activities that led to the achievements cited.

Note regarding endorsements: In addition to the Nominator’s letter, at least one, but no more than three support letters may be submitted.

Description of Award: To recognize outstanding contribution to or leadership in advancing instrumentation design or measurement technique.

Nominate for the Technical Award

Award Recipients

    Ruqiang Yan Headshot Photo
    For significant contributions to energy efficient sensing and advanced data analytics.

    For outstanding contributions to the Advancement of Energy and Health monitoring technologies.

    For outstanding contribution to the field of chemical sensing over a period of 25 years. Dr. Gardner is a pioneer in the measurement of gases and odors using electronic based instrumentation. He has designed and developed novel electronic nose instrumentation, which has been employed to measure complex smells from food production to disease detection.

    Haddah photo
    For technical leadership in constructing the NIST watt balance and leading a measurement campaign to determine Planck’s constant to 34 parts in 1,000,000,000. In the record time of 5 years, Dr. Haddad assembled an apparatus that can realize the unit of mass in the redefined system of units.

    For outstanding contributions to the advancement of the state-of-the-art in the quantization of signals in digital instrumentation.

    Headshot Photo
    For outstanding contributions to the advancement and implementation of safety and security monitoring instrumentation and measurement technologies

    Robert X. Gao Photo
    For significantly advancing the state-of-the-art in electrical capacitance tomography instrument design.

    Paolo Ferrari
    For his contribution to the analysis and experimental evaluation of clock synchronization in real-time applications for industry

    Headshot Photo
    “For leadership in implementation of novel measurement solutions in power distribution systems”

    Abdulmotaleb El Saddik Headshot Photo
    For outstanding contributions to multimedia computing.