IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society Distinguished Service Award

To recognize distinguished service to the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society.

$2,000, Plaque, and travel allowance of up to $1,000 is granted on a need basis for the recipient to attend the awards ceremony.
Funded by the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society.
Awarded annually at the discretion of the I&M Society Awards Committee at the following year’s I2MTC awards ceremony.
Basis for Judging:
Recognizes an individual who has given outstanding service to the Instrumentation and Measurement Society and to the profession. The nomination must clearly indicate the achievements that define the excellence of the candidate and must reference/provide relevant documentation that is in/or not in/ the public domain. At least 2, but no more than 4, endorsements must be provided by individuals with close knowledge of a candidate’s activities that led to the achievements cited.
Must be a member of IEEE and the Instrumentation and Measurement Society at the time of nomination and presentation. Voting members of the Society Standing Awards Committee are not eligible. Nominees must exhibit actions that reflect positively on and enhance the reputation of the I&M Society. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society/Council governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4. on Awards Limitations ( Previous award winners are not eligible.
Nomination Details:

Nomination Deadline: August 1

Note Regarding Endorsements: In addition to the Nominator’s letter, at least one, but no more than three support letters may be submitted.

Nomination Form:


Georg Brasseur

For distinguished service to the IEEE I&M Society for over 25 years, contributions to the society's leading position in worldwide measurements and sensing systems engineering.

Mark Yeary

For distinguished service to the I&M Society as TC Chair, VP Publications, VP Conferences, and Chair of the Fellows Coordination Committee. His leadership within and outside our society has been crucial to our success.

George Xiao

For outstanding and valuable services to many aspects of the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society.

Dario Petri

For 12 years of outstanding service in several positions, including Chair of the Italy Chapter, Associate Editor of the Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, Chair of the IMS Fellow Coordination Committee, IMS Vice President for Conferences and IMS Vice President for Finances.

Serge Demidenko

For the outstanding enduring contributions to the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society, the IEEE at large and the Profession.

Max Cortner

For outstanding contributions to the Society as IMTC 1998 General Chair, I2MTC 2013 General Co-Chair, I2MTC Board of Directors Chair, Administrative Committee VP of Education, as well as his Society leadership over many years at the local section level.

Alessandro Ferrero

For eighteen years of outstanding leadership on the Society’s AdCom, including service on the IMS Fellow Review Committee, as Chair of the I2MTC Board, Vice President for Publications, President, Junior Past President, Senior Past President, and Editor-in-Chief of the Transactions for Instrumentation and Measurement.

Frank Reyes

For tirelessly providing outstanding, extremely valuable and critical service to the I&M Society, in a sustained manner as I&M Administrative Committee Member-at-Large.

Ruth A. Dyer

For outstanding service of thirteen consecutive years on the Society’s AdCom, including serving at various times as Vice President of Membership Development, Publications, and Finance, and for fifteen years in leadership roles in I2MTC.

Robert C. Rassa

For many years of invaluable dedication to the Instrumentation and Measurement Society.